Navigation: Accessibility Menu

Department of Slavic Languages and Literatures

University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

Go to the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign homepage



Faculty, Teaching Assistants & Staff Directory

Faculty | Teaching Assistants |Visiting Faculty |Affiliated Faculty | Staff

Faculty

Name Major Interests Office Phone E-mail
David L. Cooper Czech and Russian literature and culture; nationalism; forgery and mystification; translation studies 3131 FLB 244-4666 dlcoop@illinois.edu
Michael Finke
Chekhov; literature and medicine; literature and psychoanalysis; aviation and popular culture 2150 FLB 244-3068 mcfinke@illinois.edu
George Gasyna Twentieth-century Polish literature; exile and emigration as discourse and as practice; modernism/postmodernism/avant-garde; diasporic and minority cultures; Jewish-Polish relations 3135 FLB 244-3070 ggasyna@illinois.edu
Lilya Kaganovsky Soviet literature and film; film and critical theory; gender studies; nineteenth century novel; modernism 3038 FLB 333-6157 lilya@illinois.edu
Harriet Murav Russian culture; film; women's studies; theater; and 19th century literature; also Comparative Literature and Jewish Studies 3148 FLB   hlmurav@illinois.edu
Valeria Sobol Russian literature and culture of the eighteenth - nineteenth centuries; Empire and the Gothic; literature and science; travel literature; Ukrainian and Czech literatures 3133 FLB 244-1063 vsobol@illinois.edu
Richard Tempest Nineteenth- and twentieth-century Russian literature; Solzhenitsyn; Russian intellectual history; Russian and East European pop culture; Russian and East European science fiction; Bulgarian history, literature and culture; political bodies 3154 FLB 244-4720 rtempest@illinois.edu
Oleksandra Wallo Twentieth- and twenty-first-century Ukrainian and Russian literature; East European theater; post-colonial theory applications to the post-Soviet space; gender and nation studies; Slavic languages pedagogy 3129 FLB Dr. Wallo serves as the Department's Language Program Coordinator oshchur2@illinois.edu
Laura Davies Brenier Theoretical linguistics, comparative Slavic linguistics, construction grammar, American (and other) Sign Language, Czech, Polish, Russian 3146 FLB   ldaviesb@illinois.edu

Teaching Assistants

Name Office E-mail
Anna Arkatova FLB 3136 arkatov1@illinois.edu
Emily Ewers FLB 3136 ewers1@illinois.edu
Marina Filipovic FLB 3136 Mfilip8@illinois.edu
Anna Hamrick (CWL) FLB 3136 hamrick1@illinois.edu
Nadia Hoppe FLB 3136 nghoppe2@illinois.edu
Alejandra Pires FLB 3136 Pires2@illinois.edu
Diana Sacilowski FLB 3132 sacilow2@illinois.edu
Jasmina Savic FLB 3136 jsavic3@illinois.edu
Aleksander Sierakowski (CWL) FLB 3132 asierak2@illinois.edu
Matthew Sutton FLB 3136 sutton3@illinois.edu

Visiting Faculty

Name Office Phone E-mail
Judith Pintar TBA   jpintar@illinois.edu

Affiliated Faculty

Name Office Phone E-mail
Tania Ionin 4109 FLB 333-7107 tionin@illinois.edu
Valleri Hohman 4-122 Krannert   vhohman@illinois.edu
Kristin Romberg Art and Design Building   kromberg@illinois.edu

Mark Steinberg

 

309 Gregory Hall

 

 

steinb@illinois.edu

 

Staff

Name Office Phone E-mail
Lenore Sroka 2090F FLB 244-2056 lsroka@illinois.edu
Lynn Stanke 3072 FLB 333-6269 stanke@illinois.edu